Send email Copy Email Address

Boards

Members of the Supervisory Board

© Philipp Plum/Fraunhofer Fokus

Chairwoman

Prof. Dr. Ina Schieferdecker

Head of the department „Research for Digitization and Innovation“ in the Federal Ministry for Education and Research
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ina Schieferdecker is head of the research department for innovation and digitisation at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research since 01.10.2019. Previously she was head of the Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems (FOKUS), professor at the Technical University of Berlin for quality engineering of open, distributed systems and director of the Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society, the German Internet Institute. She is a member of the Academy of Engineering Sciences (acatech). She was a member of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU), the High-Tech Forum 2025 (HTF), the Sustainability 2030 Science Platform, and the scientific and technical director of the Technology Foundation Berlin (TSB). She has received numerous awards for her scientific work, including the EUREKA Innovation Award and the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Foundation Prize for Young University Teachers.
© Astrid Eckert

Prof. Dr. Susanne Albers

Chair of Algorithm and Complexity, Technical University of Munich
Susanne Albers is a Computer Scientist and a Full Professor for Algorithms and Complexity at the Computer Science department of Technical University of Munich. From 1984 until 1990, she studied Mathematics, Computer Science, and Business Administration at the University of Osnabrueck. In 1993, Albers completed her phD at Saarland University. Until 1999, she worked at the Max Planck Institute for Informatics and spent her research stays in the USA, in Japan, and in other European countries. Additionally, Albers received the Otto Hahn Medal of the Max Planck Society in 1993. In 1999, she was awarded her Habilitation and accepted a Chair at the University of Dortmund, which she held until 2001. Her research area comprises the design and analysis of algorithms, in particular online and approximation algorithms. Furthermore, she also focuses on algorithmic game theory and Algorithm engineering. As a Professor, Albers also taught at University of Freiburg and Humboldt University Berlin. Since 2013, she has been a Professor at the Technical University of Munich, where she is holding the Chair for Algorithms and Complexity. In 2008, she received the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the German Research Foundation, the highest honor awarded in German research including a financial support of 2.5 Mio. euros. She is also a member of the German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina, the Academy of Sciences and Literature Mainz as well as a Fellow of the German Association for Computer Science (GI) and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.
© Staatskanzlei

Tobias Hans

Minister President of Saarland

Tobias Hans is a German politician. He became Minister President of Saarland in March 2018 and Chairman of the Christian Democratic Union (CDU) of Saarland in October 2018. After his Community Service at the Muenchwies Psychosomatic Specialized Clinic, he studied Information Science, Business Informatics, and English Studies at Saarland University. Hans continued working as a student helper at the Muenchwies Specialized Clinic until 2005, before starting his position as a Research Assistant with the CDU Parliamentary Group in the Landtag of Saarland. From 2007 until 2009, Hans was the Personal Representative of Saarland’s Minister of Justice, Work, Health, and Social Affairs. In 2007, he became the Deputy Chairman of the Neunkirchen District of CDU and in 2012 its Chairman. In March 2018, Hans was elected Minister President of Saarland and became the Chairman of CDU Saar in October 2018.

© Universität der Bundeswehr München

Prof. Dr. Udo Helmbrecht

University Professor in the Faculty of Computer Science, University of the Federal Armed Forces Munich

Udo Helmbrecht is the former President of the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI) and the Director of the European Union Agency for Cybersecurity (ENISA). Helmbrecht studied Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science at the Ruhr University in Bochum. Having received his Diploma in Physics, he then went on to obtain a Doctorate in Theoretical Physics in 1984. In 1985, Helmbrecht began his career as a systems analyst, working on a German Chinese project at Messerschmitt-Bölkow-Blohm GmhB (MBB). In 1990, Helmbrecht was assigned the position of Head of the Technical Data Systems Department and between 1992 and 1995 he worked as Information Technology Program Manager, assuming responsibility for the program and project management of information technology in the military aircraft product group. In 1995, Helmbrecht was appointed CIO of the Bayerische Versorgungskammer, a public insurance institution for pensions. As Director and Division Manager of Information Processing, he was responsible for data processing, information technology and security, application development, as well as data center and network infrastructure. Here, he succeeded in introducing several entrepreneurial operating methods. Between 2003 and 2009, Helmbrecht was the President of the Federal Office for Information Security (BSI) in Bonn. In this position, he successfully developed the agency’s central service provision for information security within the German Federal Government. Since October 2009, he has been the Director of ENISA. In November 2010, Helmbrecht was appointed Honorary Professor at the Universität der Bundeswehr, Munich, Germany.

© Accenture Dienstleistungen GmbH

Catrin Hinkel

Senior Managing Director Accenture
From 1988 – 1992, Catrin Hinkel studied Business Administration at ESB Reutlingen and in London. She started her career at Accenture in 1993 (at the time called Andersen Consulting). First, she worked as a Consultant in the areas “Telecommunication” and “Customer Relationship Management” from 1995; 2005, she accepted the Lead of Accenture’s SAP Business for Germany/Austria/Switzerland (ASG); since 2007, she has been a member of the Management Board of Accenture in Germany. From 2011 until 2017, she was the Managing Director for the division “Health & Public Services”. Since 2017, she has been heading the division “Communication, Media & Technology“(CMT) and since 2018, she is managing Consulting for CMT Global. Additionally, since 2007, she has been a member – and since 2015, the Speaker of the Board of Directors – of the initiative “Generation CEO”. Thanks to her years of experience and her specialization, Catrin Hinkel is an expert for strategic questions concerning digitalization and transformation in Communication and High-Tech companies. Catrin Hinkel’s office is situated at the Accenture site Kronberg.

© Claudia Ehrlich

Prof. Dr. Manfred Schmitt

President of Saarland University
Manfred Schmitt is a Professor for Molecular and Cell Biology and the President of Saarland University. Manfred Schmitt completed his undergraduate and doctoral studies at the University of Mainz. After finishing his PhD and receiving a research scholarship by the German Research Foundation (DFG), he spent two years as a postdoctoral researcher at the UMass Medical School in Worcester, USA. In 1990, he became a research assistant at the University of Mainz; he was awarded his Habilitation in Microbiology in 1993. In 1996, Manfred Schmitt was appointed Professor for Molecular and Cell Biology at the Center for Human and Molecular Biology (ZHMB) at Saarland University, where he held the position of Director between 2003 and 2011. From 2009 until 2014, he was the Vice-President of Education at Saarland University. He has been the President of Saarland University since March 1, 2017. Despite two offers of Chairs at Heinrich-Heine University of Düsseldorf in 2007 and TU Dresden in 2012, Manfred Schmitt decided to build his teaching and research career at Saarland University. He is involved in the collaborative research center SFB 1027 “Physical modelling of non-equilibrium processes in biological systems”. Additionally, he is also engaged in two DFG-funded priority programs and an international graduate school (IRTG 1830) involving Saarland University, Kaiserslautern University of Technology, and the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada. From 2008 until 2017, Manfred Schmitt also held the position of Program Advisor at the German-French University (DFH) for German-French degree programs in biology.

© Martin

Andrea Martin

Leader IBM Watson IoT Center Munich
Andrea Martin is leading the Watson IoT Center in Munich and is responsible for its content-related development and market relevance. Prior to that, she was Chief Technology Officer (CTO) at IBM for Germany, Austria, and Switzerland and President of the IBM Academy of Technology. Additonally, Andrea Martin is an IBM Distinguished Engineer with a strategical and tactical responsibility. Martin studied Business Mathematics in Karlsruhe and started her career at IBM in 1992. In 2009, she received the IBM Award for outstanding technical performance on the subject of “An Innovative Technique to Assess SOA IT Service Management Readiness”; in 2017, she received the Women of the Year” award for technical innovation. Outside the company, she is an appointed expert in the Commission for AI of the German Parliament and is committed to the Society of Women Engineers.

© Mutzel
 

Prof. Dr. Petra Mutzel

Chair of Computational Analytics, University of Bonn
Petra Mutzel holds the Chair of Computational Analytics and is heading the group „High Performance Computing and Analytics” at the University of Bonn. After earning her diploma in Mathematics at the Augsburg University and finishing her doctorate in Computer Science at the University of Cologne, she joined the Max Planck Institute for Informatics in Saarbruecken and obtained her habilitation at Saarland University in 1999. She held the Chair for Algorithms and Data Structures at TU Wien (1999 – 2004) as well as the Chair for Algorithm Engineering/Experimental Algorithms at the TU Dortmund University (2004 – 2019). Her research focuses on design, theoretical analysis, and experimental evaluation of algorithms (“Algorithm Engineering”), especially in the areas of “Network Analysis and Visualization”, “Combinatorial Optimization” as well as “Big Data Analysis” and their application in natural sciences. The “Alcatel SEL Stiftung für Kommunikationsforschung” awarded her the research prize “Technische Kommunikation 2000“. From 2013 to 2018, Petra Mutzel was an elected member of the “DFG-Senatsauschuss” and the “DFG-Bewilligungsausschuss” for Collaborative Research Centers (SFB).

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board

© ETH
 

Prof. Dr. Srdjan Capkun

Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board
Srdjan Capkun (Srđan Čapkun) is a Full Professor in the Department of Computer Science, ETH Zurich and Director of the Zurich Information Security and Privacy Center (ZISC). He was born in Split, Croatia. He received his Dipl.Ing. Degree in Electrical Engineering / Computer Science from the University of Split in 1998, and his Ph.D. degree in Communication Systems from EPFL in 2004. Prior to joining ETH Zurich in 2006, he was a postdoctoral researcher in the Networked & Embedded Systems Laboratory (NESL), University of California Los Angeles and an Assistant Professor in the Informatics and Mathematical Modelling Department, Technical University of Denmark (DTU). His research interests lie in system and network security. His focus areas are wireless security (in particular secure positioning) and system security where he focuses on trusted computing and blockchain technologies. He is a co-founder of 3db Access, a company focusing on secure distance measurement and proximity-based access control, and of Sound-Proof, a spin-off focusing on usable on-line authentication. In 2016, he received an ERC Consolidator Grant for a project on securing positioning in wireless networks.

E-mail senden E-Mail Adresse kopieren

Gremien

Aufsichtsrat

© Philipp Plum/Fraunhofer Fokus

VORSITZENDE

Prof. Dr. Ina Schieferdecker

Leiterin der Abteilung „Forschung für Digitalisierung und Innovationen“ im Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ina Schieferdecker leitet seit dem 01.10.2019 die Abteilung Forschung für Innovation und Digitalisierung im Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung. Zuvor war sie Institutsleiterin des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Offene Kommunikationssysteme (FOKUS), Professorin an der Technischen Universität Berlin zum Quality Engineering von offenen, verteilten Systemen und Direktorin des Weizenbaum-Instituts für die Vernetzte Gesellschaft, dem Deutschen Internet-Institut. Sie ist Mitglied der Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech). Sie war u.a. Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Bundesregierung Globale Umweltveränderungen (WBGU), des Hightech-Forums 2025 (HTF), der Wissenschaftsplattform Nachhaltigkeit 2030 und wissenschaftlich-technische Vorständin der Technologiestiftung Berlin (TSB). Für ihre wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten hat sie vielfach Auszeichnungen wie den EUREKA Innovation Award oder den Preis für junge Hochschullehrer der Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung erhalten.

© Astrid Eckert

Prof. Dr. Susanne Albers

Lehrstuhl für Algorithmen und Komplexität, Technische Universität München

Susanne Albers ist Informatikerin und leitet den Lehrstuhl für Algorithmen und Komplexität an der Fakultät für Informatik der Technischen Universität München. Von 1984 bis 1990 studierte sie Mathematik, Informatik und Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Osnabrück. Im Anschluss promovierte Albers 1993 an der Universität des Saarlandes. Bis 1999 war sie am Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik tätig und verbrachte Forschungsbesuche in den USA, Japan und im europäischen Ausland. Albers erhielt 1993 zudem die Otto-Hahn-Medaille der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. 1999 habilitierte sie schließlich und trat eine Professur an der Universität Dortmund an, die sie bis 2001 innehatte. Ihr Forschungsgebiet umfasst den Entwurf und die Analyse von Algorithmen, insbesondere Online- und Approximationsalgorithmen. Außerdem befasst sie sich mit algorithmischer Spieltheorie und Algorithms Engineering. Später lehrte Albers als Professorin auch an der Universität Freiburg sowie an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin. Seit 2013 ist sie Professorin an der Technischen Universität München, wo sie den Lehrstuhl für Algorithmen und Komplexität leitet. Albers erhielt 2008 den Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, der mit 2,5 Millionen den höchst dotierten deutschen Förderpreis darstellt. Zudem ist sie Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina, Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaft und Literatur Mainz sowie Fellow der Gesellschaft für Informatik und der European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

© Staatskanzlei

Tobias Hans

Ministerpräsident des Saarlandes

Tobias Hans ist Politiker und seit März 2018 Ministerpräsident des Saarlandes sowie seit Oktober 2018 Landesvorsitzender der CDU Saar. Nach seinem Zivildienst an der Psychosomatischen Fachklinik Münchwies nahm er das Studium der Informationswissenschaften, Wirtschaftsinformatik und Anglistik an der Universität des Saarlandes auf. Parallel dazu war Hans bis 2005 als studentischer wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Fachklinik Münchwies tätig, bevor er 2006 seine Tätigkeit als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in der CDU-Fraktion im Landtag des Saarlandes aufnahm. Von 2007 bis 2009 war Hans persönlicher Referent des saarländischen Ministers für Justiz, Arbeit, Gesundheit und Soziales. 2007 wurde er stellvertretender Vorsitzender des CDU-Kreisverbandes Neunkirchen und 2012 schließlich zu dessen Vorsitzendem (bis 2018). 2009 wurde Hans zum Mitglied des Saarländischen Landtages gewählt und fungierte ab 2012 als Parlamentarischer Geschäftsführer der CDU-Landtagsfraktion, ehe er 2015 dessen Vorsitz übernimmt. Im März 2018 wurde Hans vom Landtag des Saarlandes zum Ministerpräsidenten des Landes gewählt und hat seit Oktober 2018 den Landesvorsitz der CDU Saar inne.

© Universität der Bundeswehr München

Prof. Dr. Udo Helmbrecht

University Professor in the Faculty of Computer Science, University of the Federal Armed Forces Munich

Udo Helmbrecht ist ehemaliger Präsident des Bundesamtes für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik (BSI) und Direktor der European Union Agency for Cybersecurity (ENISA). Helmbrecht studierte Physik, Mathematik und Informatik an der Ruhr-Universität in Bochum. Nach dem Erwerb seines Diploms schloss er 1984 seine Promotion in Theoretischer Physik ab. 1985 begann er seine Laufbahn als Systemanalytiker im Rahmen eines deutsch-chinesischen Projekts der Messerschmitt-Bölkow-Blohm GmbH (MBB). 1990 übernahm er die Leitung der Abteilung Technische Informationssysteme und fungierte anschließend als Programmleiter für Informationstechnologie. Hier war er verantwortlich für das produktbereichsübergreifende Programm- und Projektmanagement der Informationstechnologie im Produktbereich Militärflugzeuge. 1995 wechselte Helmbrecht zur Bayerischen Versorgungskammer und war dort als Direktor sowie Bereichsleiter für Informationsverarbeitung (CIO) tätig. Zu seinem Verantwortungsbereich gehörten hier die Datenverarbeitung, Informationstechnologie, Informationssicherheit, Anwendungsentwicklung, das Rechenzentrum sowie die Netzwerkinfrastruktur. Anschließend war er von 2003 bis 2009 Präsident des Bundesamtes für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik (BSI) in Bonn. Während dieser Zeit baute er die Behörde zum operativen IT-Sicherheitsdienstleister der Bundesregierung aus. Seit Oktober 2009 leitet Helmbrecht die ENISA. Seit November 2010 ist Helmbrecht Honorarprofessor an der Universität der Bundeswehr.

© Accenture Dienstleistungen GmbH

Catrin Hinkel

Senior Managing Director Accenture

Ihr Studium als Betriebswirtin (FH) absolviert sie von 1988 - 1992 im ESB in Reutlingen und London. Ihre Karriere bei Accenture begann sie 1993 (damals noch Andersen Consulting). Zunächst war sie ab 1995 Beraterin in den Bereichen „Telekommunikation“ und „Customer Relationship Management“; 2005 übernahm sie die Leitung des Bereichs SAP für Deutschland/Österreich/Schweiz (ASG); seit 2007 gehört sie der Accenture Geschäftsführung in Deutschland an. Von 2011-2017 übernahm sie die Leitung des Geschäftsbereichs „Health & Public Services“. Seit 2017 hat sie die Leitung des Geschäftsbereichs „Communication, Media & Technology“ (CMT) inne und seit 2018 leitet sie das Consulting für den Bereich CMT Global. Zusätzlich ist sie seit 2007 Mitglied und seit 2015 Sprecherin des Vorstandes der Initiative „Generation CEO“. Aufgrund ihrer jahrelangen Erfahrung und Spezialisierung ist Catrin Hinkel Expertin für strategische Fragen in der Digitalisierung und Transformation von Kommunikations- und High-Tech-Unternehmen. Catrin Hinkels Büro befindet sich am Accenture-Standort Kronberg. 

© Claudia Ehrlich

Prof. Dr. Manfred Schmitt

Präsident der Universität des Saarlandes

Manfred Schmitt ist Professor für Molekular- und Zellbiologie und begleitet das Amt des Universitätspräsidenten an der Universität des Saarlandes. Manfred Schmitt studierte und promovierte an der Universität Mainz. Nach der Promotion forschte er zwei Jahre lang als Postdoc und Stipendiat der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft in den USA an der UMass Medical School in Worcester. 1990 wurde er wissenschaftlicher Assistent an der Universität Mainz, wo er sich 1993 für das Fach Mikrobiologie habilitierte. Seit 1996 ist Manfred Schmitt Professor für Molekular- und Zellbiologie am Zentrum für Human- und Molekularbiologie (ZHMB) der Universität des Saarlandes, das er von 2003 bis 2011 auch geleitet hat. Von 2009 bis 2014 war er Vizepräsident für Lehre und Studium der Saar-Uni. Seit 1. März 2017 ist Manfred Schmitt Präsident der Universität des Saarlandes. Trotz zweier Rufe an die Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf 2007 und die TU Dresden 2012 entschied Manfred Schmitt sich dafür, an der Saar-Universität zu forschen und zu lehren. Er ist am SFB 1027 zum Thema "Physikalische Modellierung von Nichtgleichgewichtsprozessen in biologischen Systemen" beteiligt. Außerdem wirkt er an zwei Schwerpunktprogrammen der DFG sowie an einem internationalen Graduiertenkolleg (IRTG 1830) zwischen der Saar-Universität, der TU Kaiserslautern und der kanadischen University of Alberta, Edmonton, mit. Von 2008 bis 2017 war Manfred Schmitt außerdem Programm¬beauftragter der Deutsch-Französischen Hochschule für die deutsch-französischen Studiengänge in der Biologie.

© Martin

Andrea Martin

Leiterin IBM Watson IoT Center München

Andrea Martin leitet das Watson IoT Center in München und ist verantwortlich für dessen inhaltliche Ausgestaltung und Marktrelevanz. Davor war sie Chief Technology Officer (CTO) für IBM in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz und Präsidentin der IBM Academy of Technology. Andrea Martin ist außerdem IBM Distinguished Engineer mit strategischer und taktischer Verantwortung. Martin studierte Wirtschaftsmathematik in Karlsruhe und begann 1992 ihre Karriere bei IBM. 2009 erhielt sie den IBM Award für herausragende technische Leistungen zum Thema “An Innovative Technique to Assess SOA IT Service Management Readiness“; 2017 erhielt sie den „Women of the Year' Preis für technische Innovation. Außerhalb des Unternehmens engagiert sie sich als Expertin in der KI-Enquete-Kommission des deutschen Bundestages und für die Society of Women Engineers.

© Mutzel
 

Prof. Dr. Petra Mutzel

Lehrstuhl Computational Analytics, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn

Petra Mutzel leitet den Lehrstuhl für Computational Analytics und koordiniert als wissenschaftliche Leiterin den Bereich “High Performance Computing and Analytics“ an der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn. Nach ihrem Diplom in Mathematik an der Universität Augsburg und ihrer Promotion in Informatik an der Universität zu Köln wurde sie Mitarbeiterin des Max-Planck-Instituts für Informatik in Saarbrücken und habilitierte sich 1999 an der Universität des Saarlandes. Danach leitete sie den Lehrstuhl für Algorithmen und Datenstrukturen an der Technischen Universität Wien (1999-2004) sowie den Lehrstuhl für Algorithm Engineering/Experimental Algorithms an der Technischen Universität Dortmund (2004-2019). Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Design, der theoretischen Analyse und der experimentellen Evaluierung von Algorithmen (“Algorithm Engineering”), insbesondere in den Bereichen “Netzwerk Analyse und Visualisierung“, “Kombinatorische Optimierung“ sowie “Big Data Analyse“ mit Anwendungen in den Naturwissenschaften. Die Alcatel SEL Stiftung für Kommunikationsforschung verlieh ihr den Forschungspreis “Technische Kommunikation 2000“. Petra Mutzel war von 2013 bis 2018 gewähltes Mitglied des DFG-Senatsausschusses sowie des DFG-Bewilligungsausschusses für die Sonderforschungsbereiche.

© ETH
 

Prof. Dr. Srdjan Capkun

Vorsitzender des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats

Srdjan Capkun (Srđan Čapkun) Professor in der Informatik der ETH Zürich und Direktor des Zurich Information Security and Privacy Center (ZISC). Er wurde in Split, Kroatien geboren. Er erhielt 1998 seinen Dipl.-Ing.-Abschluss in Electrical Elektrotechnik/Informatik der Universität Split und promovierte 2004 im Bereich der Kommunikationssysteme der EPFL. Bevor er 2006 an die ETH Zürich kam, war er postdoktoraler Forscher im Networked & Embedded Systems Laboratory (NESL) der Universität Kalifornien in Los Angeles und Assistenzprofessor in der Fachrichtung für Informatics and Mathematical Modelling der Technischen Universität Dänemark (DTU). Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen in der System- und Netzwerksicherheit. Seine Schwerpunktgebiete sind die Sicherheit drahtloser Verbindungen (v.a. Secure Positioning) und Systemsicherheit, wobei er sich auf Trusted Computing und Blockchain-Technologien konzentriert. Er ist Mitgründer von 3db Access, einer Firma, die sich u.a. mit Zugangskontrollen beschäftigt, und Sound-Proof, einem Spin-off, das sich auf benutzerfreundliche Online-Authentifizierung konzentriert. 2016 hat er denn ERC Consolidator Grant des Europäischen Forschungsrats für ein Projekt im Bereich Secure Positioning drahtloser Netzwerke erhalten.

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat

Srdjan Capkun

ETH Zürich
https://ethz.ch/de.html

Lorrie Faith Cranor

ETH Zürich
https://www.cmu.edu

Catuscia Palamidessi

inria
https://www.inria.fr/en

Virgil Gligor

ETH Zürich
https://www.cmu.edu

Patrick Drew McDaniel

Pennsylvania State University
https://www.psu.edu