Send email Copy Email Address

Management

Founding Director & Chairman of the Executive Board (CEO)

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Michael Backes

Professor Michael Backes is the founding director of the Helmholtz Center for Information Security (CISPA) He is the chairman and the speaker of CISPA’s executive board.

Michael Backes was born in Lebach in 1978. After completing his community service, he studied Computer Science and Mathematics at Saarland University. He obtained his Diploma in Computer Science in 2001 after five semesters; his Diploma in Mathematics and a Ph.D in Computer Science followed one year later in 2002. Subsequently, Michael Backes moved to IBM Research as a permanent researcher at the research lab in Zurich. In 2005, at the age of 26, he was appointed as the Professor for Information Security at Saarland University. He has been a Fellow of the Max Planck Society from 2007 to 2017, and the founding director of the national BMBF-funded Competence Center for IT-Security, Privacy and Accountability (the predecessor of the Helmholtz Center for Information Security (CISPA)) since 2011. Currently, he is the speaker of the DFG Collaborative Research Center (SFB) on Understanding and Controlling Privacy since 2016, and he has been the director of the CISPA-Stanford Center for Cybersecurity Research since 2016.

Michael Backes’s research covers various aspects of IT security and privacy and ranges from the design, analysis, and verification of protocols and systems, mechanisms for protecting end-user privacy, research on new attack vectors, to universal solutions in software and network security. His research findings are documented in over 150 peer-reviewed publications in prestigious international journals and conference proceedings. His articles have repeatedly earned him renowned scientific awards, in particular the ERC Synergy Grant as Europe’s most distinguished research award, the ERC Starting Grant, the Microsoft Outstanding Privacy Research Award, two IBM Outstanding Achievement Awards, the Max Planck Fellowship, the IBM Faculty Award, and the CNIL-INRIA Privacy Award. His research findings have been transferred to innovative applications, which have been honored by attention beyond the scientific community. In particular, he received the MIT TR35 Award: the best 35 researchers and innovators worldwide below the age of 35, across all disciplines, whose “accomplishments are poised to have a dramatic impact on the world as we know it”. He was moreover elected as the youngest member to date in acatech – the German Academy of Science and Engineering in 2014.

Director Page

Chief Operating Officer and Member of the Executive Board

Dr. Kevin Streit


Dr. Kevin Streit has been the chief operating officer of the CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security since November 1, 2021. The computer scientist has witnessed and also helped shape the development of the center from the very beginning.

Kevin was born in Hermeskeil in 1984, grew up in a four-generation household, and is the first academic in his family. After graduating from high school, he initially trained as an IT specialist. The fact that he completed this as the best in the state motivated the now 37-year-old to begin studying computer science at Saarland University. After graduating with a bachelor's degree, he attended the Saarbrücken Graduate School of Computer Science. He earned his doctorate under CISPA faculty member Andreas Zeller and Sebastian Hack, a professor at Saarland University.

After a short foray into the start-up world, Kevin moved into science management and became the administrative coordinator for the Collaborative Research Center, which was acquired in 2015 and coordinated by CISPA. The following year, Kevin Streit became CISPA's administrative manager and, therefore, was in a responsible position to help shape the Helmholtz Center for Information Security's founding process, which lasted from 2017 to 2019. 

In doing so, Kevin Streit got just as involved in administration as he had previously been in computer science. 
He had and has the claim to penetrate both worlds to the same extent in terms of content. Kevin sees a great opportunity in his knowledge of both areas. After all, it means that he not only understands the business contexts but also the needs of the researchers and has an understanding of digital implementation possibilities.

The period in which Dr. Kevin Streit takes up his new position is marked by the ongoing development and growth of the center. When asked what will change with him as administrative director, Streit responds that, of course, everything will change. However, not because he was appointed chief operating officer, but because of the growth plan, which was mapped out over eight years in 2019 and is just in year 2 of implementation when he takes office. Thus, in the following years, steady development and constant changes will be on the agenda. There are also always new people joining the Center. In order to provide them with an excellent scientific environment, a new campus is being built, among other things. An essential goal of the management is to unite all CISPA employees at one location. Kevin has also made it his mission to drive the administration's digitalization and make work processes as good as possible.

E-mail senden E-Mail Adresse kopieren

Management

Gründungsdirektor und Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Michael Backes

Professor Michael Backes ist der Gründungsdirektor des CISPA Helmholtz-Zentrum für Informationssicherheit. Er ist der Vorsitzende und Sprecher der Geschäftsführung des Zentrums.

Michael Backes wurde 1978 in Lebach geboren und studierte nach seinem Zivildienst Informatik und Mathematik an der Universität des Saarlandes. 2001 erhielt er nach fünf Semestern sein Diplom in Informatik; sein Diplom in Mathematik und seine Promotion in Informatik folgten ein Jahr später 2002. Danach wechselte Michael Backes zu IBM Research mit einer unbefristeten Forscherstelle im Forschungslabor in Zürich. Im Jahr 2005, im Alter von 26 Jahren, wurde er zum Professor für Informationssicherheit an die Universität des Saarlandes berufen. Er war von 2007 bis 2017 ein Fellow der Max-Planck- Gesellschaft und war der Gründungsdirektor des 2011 ins Leben gerufenen nationalen BMBF-geförderten Kompetenzzentrums, des Center for IT-Security, Privacy and Accountability (dem Vorgänger des Helmholtz-Zentrum für Informationssicherheit (CISPA)). Gegenwärtig ist er seit 2016 der Sprecher des DFG-Sonderforschungsbereichs (SFB) zur Verständnis und zur Kontrolle von Datenschutz und ebenfalls seit 2016 der Direktor des CISPA-Stanford Center für Cybersicherheitsforschung.

Die Forschung von Michael Backes umfasst verschiedene Aspekte von IT-Sicherheit und Datenschutz, vom Design, der Analyse und Verifikation von Protokollen und Systemen, Mechanismen zum Schutz der Endnutzer-Privatsphäre, Forschung zu neuen Angriffsvektoren, bis hin zu Universallösungen für Software- und Netzwerksicherheit. Seine Forschungsergebnisse sind in über 150 von anderen Experten begutachteten Publikationen in prestigeträchtigen internationalen Zeitschriften und Konferenzbänden dokumentiert. Seine Artikel haben ihm mehrfach wissenschaftliche Preise eingebracht, insbesondere den ERC Synergy Grant als Europas bedeutendster Forschungspreis, den ERC Starting Grant, den Microsoft Outstanding Privacy Research Award, zwei IBM Outstanding Achievement Awards, die Max-Planck-Fellowship, der IBM Faculty Award und den CNIL-INRIA Privacy Award. Seine Forschungsergebnisse wurden in innovative Anwendungen übertragen, die ihm Aufmerksamkeit außerhalb der wissenschaftlichen Community eingebracht haben. So hat er insbesondere den MIT TR35 Award erhalten: eine Auszeichnung für die weltweit besten 35 Forscher:innen und Innovatoren unter 35 Jahren aller Disziplinen, deren "Errungenschaften einen dramatischen Einfluss auf die uns bekannte Welt haben werden". Zudem wurde er 2014 als bisher jüngstes Mitglied in die acatech – Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften gewählt.

Director Page

Administrativer Geschäftsführer

Dr. Kevin Streit

 

Dr. Kevin Streit ist seit dem 1. November 2021 administrativer Geschäftsführer des CISPA Helmholtz-Zentrum für Informationssicherheit. Der Informatiker hat die Entwicklung des Zentrums von Anfang an miterlebt und auch mitgeprägt.

Kevin wurde 1984 in Hermeskeil geboren, wuchs in einem Vier-Generationen-Haushalt auf und ist der erste Akademiker in seiner Familie. Nach dem Abitur absolvierte er zunächst eine Ausbildung zum Fachinformatiker. Dass er diese als Landesbester abgeschlossen hat, nahm der heute 37-Jährige zur Motivation, ein Informatikstudium an der Universität des Saarlandes zu beginnen. Nach dem Bachelor-Abschluss folgte die Saarbrücken Graduate School of Computer Science und die Promotion bei CISPA-Faculty Andreas Zeller und Sebastian Hack, Professor an der Universität des Saarlandes.

Nach einem kurzen Exkurs in die Start-up-Welt wechselte Kevin ins Wissenschaftsmanagement und wurde administrativer Koordinator für den in 2015 eingeworbenen und von CISPA koordinierten Sonderforschungsbereich. Im darauffolgenden Jahr wurde Kevin Streit CISPA-Verwaltungsleiter und gestaltete den von 2017 bis 2019 dauernden Gründungsprozess des Helmholtz-Zentrums für Informationssicherheit an verantwortlicher Stelle mit. 

Auf die Administration ließ sich Kevin Streit dabei in gleichem Maße ein, wie zuvor auf die Informatik.

Er hatte und hat den Anspruch, beide Welten in gleichem Maße inhaltlich zu durchdringen. In der Kenntnis beider Bereiche liegt für Kevin eine große Chance. Schließlich resultiert daraus, dass er nicht nur die betriebswirtschaftlichen Zusammenhänge sondern auch die Bedürfnisse der Forscher:innen versteht und über das Verständnis digitaler Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten verfügt.

Die Zeit, in der Dr. Kevin Streit seine neue Position antritt, ist geprägt vom andauernden Aufbau und Aufwuchs des Zentrums. Auf die Frage, was sich mit ihm als administrativem Geschäftsführer ändern wird, antwortet Streit, dass sich selbstverständlich alles ändern wird. Jedoch nicht aus Anlass seiner Bestellung zum Geschäftsführer, sondern wegen des Aufwuchsplans, welcher 2019 über 8 Jahre vorgezeichnet wurde und sich zum Zeitpunkt seiner Amtsübernahme gerade erst in Jahr 2 der Umsetzung befindet. In den folgenden Jahren werden stetige Entwicklung und ständige Veränderungen somit zur Tagesordnung gehören. Es kommen am Zentrum auch immer neue Menschen hinzu. Um diesen ein hervorragendes Wissenschaftsumfeld zu bieten, wird unter anderem ein neuer Campus errichtet. Ein wichtiges Ziel der Geschäftsführung ist es, alle CISPA-Mitarbeiter:innen an einem Standort zu vereinen. Die Digitalisierung der Verwaltung voranzutreiben und Arbeitsprozesse so gut wie möglich zu gestalten, hat sich Kevin überdies zur persönlichen Aufgabe gemacht.

 

Kontakt

Ilona Müller

Büroleitung der Administrativen Geschäftsführung

 +49 681 87083 2927

Eva Witfeld

Persönliche Assistentin der Administrativen Geschäftsführung

 +49 681 87083 2479