Send email Copy Email Address

ABOUT CISPA

The Helmholtz Center for Information Security is a German national Big Science Institution within the Helmholtz Association. Its research agenda encompasses all aspects of Information Security. With its ongoing growth, CISPA will soon have the critical mass of researchers (800+) to provide a comprehensive, holistic treatment of the pressing grand Cybersecurity and Privacy research challenges that our society faces in the age of digitalization.

 

CISPA seeks to play a prominent international role in research, transfer, and innovation by combining cutting-edge, often disruptive foundational research with innovative application-oriented research, corresponding technology transfer, and societal outreach. Thematically, it strives to cover the full spectrum from theory to empirical research. It is deeply grounded in computer science and works interdisciplinarily with researchers in adjacent fields such as medicine, law, and the social sciences.

CISPA is committed to the highest international academic standards. We offer a world-class research environment that grants extensive resources to a wide range of researchers and constitutes an attractive destination for the best talents and scientists from all countries. Moreover, we strongly support undergraduate and graduate education of Cybersecurity students, and we seek to become an elite training ground for the next generation of Cybersecurity experts and scientific leaders in this field.

CISPA is located in Saarbrücken, in the greater region neighboring France, Luxemburg placing the center in an ideal location for both cross-border and local collaborations with other research institutes.

CISPA started out with one mission: to reinvent the digitalized world of the future from the ground up and make it safer through innovative cutting-edge research.

1

We provide a comprehensive, holistic treatment of the pressing grand challenges in Cybersecurity and Privacy research that our society faces in the age of digitalization.

2

We assume a prominent international role in the field of Cybersecurity and Privacy research, pertaining to both cutting-edge foundational and application-oriented research.

3

We are committed to the highest international academic standards.

4

We offer a world-class research environment that grants extensive resources to a wide range of researchers and constitutes an attractive destination for the best talents and scientists from all countries.

5

We seek to become an elite training ground for the next generation of scientific leaders and innovators in Cybersecurity and Privacy.

6

We achieve a considerable impact on the general public by means of technology transfer, support of start-up companies, and societal outreach.

LEADERSHIP

Professor Michael Backes is the founding director of CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security. He is the chairman and the speaker of CISPA’s executive board.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Michael Backes
Scientific Director

Bernd Therre has been Administrative Manager of the CISPA since 2019. Before he worked in various industry positions and was, among other things, Administrative Director of the Industriekultur Saar GmbH (IKS) and was a member of the administrative board of the "Stiftung Saarländischer Kulturbesitz".

Dipl.-Kfm. Bernd Therre
Administrative Manager

 



RELATED RESOURCES

KEY FACTS

CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security is constantly growing. The numbers are constantly changing. Here we present some of the most concise figures about the Helmholtz Center for Information Security.

31

years age average

31

nationalities from all over the world

29,35 %

women

45

research assistants

2019

full member of the Helmholtz Association

AWARDS

CISPA researchers have received numerous scientific awards and honors. Among the most prominent ones are six ERC Grants, especially the ERC Synergy Grant ImPact in 2013. Our researchers were the first computer scientists to ever receive this award.

OUR MILESTONES

Oct 2011 - CISPA was established

CISPA was established in October as a national, BMBF-funded competence center for IT security and privacy at Saarland University.

Jan 2014 - Erc Synergy Grant

CISPA researchers are the first computer scientists to be awarded with the ERC Synergy Grant., the highest valued EU research award. 

Oct 2014 - Bachelor Cybersecurity

CISPA has established a unique Bachelor university program in Cybersecurity at Saarland University.

Apr 2016 - Opening of the CISPA building

The first CISPA building is inaugurated.  The planning of the second building is in full swing.

Nov 2016 - CISPA-Stanford Center

The cooperation between Stanford University and CISPA is sealed. The goal: promoting the exchange and training of outstanding researchers.

Dec 2017 - Helmholtz welcomes CISPA

CISPA announces its entry into Helmholtz Association.

Sep 2018 - Founding HMSP

CISPA and DZNE found the Helmholtz Medical Security and Privacy Research Center (HMSP).

Oct 2018 - Master Entrepreneurial Cybersecurity

A new Master's programme starts at Saarland University, in which students start a company as part of their studies.

Jan 2019 - CISPA is the 19th Helmholtz Center

CISPA becomes a full member of the Helmholtz Association, the largest research association in Germany. 

Mar 2019 - ZF AI & Cybersecurity Center

The global automotive supplier ZF announces cooperation with CISPA in the "ZF AI & Cybersecurity Center".

Jan 2020 - Cooperation with Loria

CISPA and LORIA open the new French-German Center for Cybersecurity.

LOCATION

WHERE IS SAARBRÜCKEN?

Saarbrücken, the state capital of Saarland, is located in the southwest of Germany, adjacent to the French border, about halfway between Luxembourg City and Strasbourg.

HOW TO REACH US BY PLANE

Saarbrücken airport (SCN) offers daily non-stop flights to a number of European cities. A taxi ride from the airport to Saarland University takes about 20 minutes (roughly 25 euros Taxi Phone +49 681 33033 or +49 681 55000). Alternatively, a local bus (R10) will take you from the airport (bus stop: “Saarbrücken Flughafen”) to Saarland University in 45 minutes (2,60 euros). The bus runs approximately twice an hour between 5 am and 8:45 pm on weekdays.

For details, see the R10 timetable: http://www.saarfahrplan.de

Frankfurt airport (FRA), the second biggest hub in Europe, is convenient for travellers from most destinations. It is a car drive of 1 1/2 hours to Saarbruecken and 2 to 2 1/2 hours by train. For instructions on getting from Frankfurt airport to Saarbruecken by train, see "By Train" below. Airports in Paris or Luxembourg are other convenient options, connected to Saarbruecken by train or bus.

HOW TO REACH US BY TRAIN

Saarbruecken's main railway station (“Hauptbahnhof”) is well connected to other German cities. You can take the bus lines 111, 112, and 124 to Saarland University. A bus ride from Saarbruecken main railway station to Saarland University takes between 15 and 25 minutes (2,60 euros). If you exit at bus stop “Stuhlsatzenhaus”, you are right at CISPA’s doorstep.

For details, access the timetables: http://www.saarfahrplan.de

HOW TO REACH US BY CAR

GPS coordinates of the University campus:  N 49.259386  E 7.051715

CISPA is located at the eastern entrance (“Universität Ost”) of the university. You can conveniently park your car right in front of our institute or in the multi-storey parking lot, “Universität Ost”, at a few hundred meters distance.

ADRESSES

Placeholder

CISPA – Main building

Stuhlsatzenhaus 5
66123 Saarbrücken, Germany

 +49 681 302 71900  +49 681 302 71942
Placeholder

Enovos-Building (temporary)

Am Halberg 3
66121 Saarbrücken, Germany

 +49 681 302 71900  +49 681 302 71942
Placeholder

St. Ingbert (temporary)

Kaiserstraße 170-174
66383 St. Ingbert, Germany

 +49 681 302 71900  +49 681 302 71942

E-mail senden E-Mail Adresse kopieren

ÜBER CISPA

Das CISPA Helmholtz-Zentrum für Informationssicherheit ist eine nationale Großforschungseinrichtung innerhalb der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Es erforscht die Informationssicherheit in all ihren Facetten. Durch kontinuierliches Wachstum wird CISPA über die notwendige kritische Masse an Wissenschaftler:innen verfügen, um die drängenden, großen Herausforderungen der Cybersicherheits- und Datenschutzforschung umfassend und ganzheitlich anzugehen, mit denen unsere Gesellschaft im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung konfrontiert wird.

CISPA möchte auf internationaler Ebene eine herausragende Position in Forschung, Transfer und Innovation übernehmen, indem es hochmoderne, oft revolutionäre Grundlagenforschung mit innovativer anwendungsorientierter Forschung, entsprechendem Technologietransfer und gesellschaftlichem Diskurs kombiniert. Thematisch zielt es darauf ab, das gesamte Spektrum von Theorie bis zu empirischer Forschung abzudecken. Es ist tief in der Informatik verwurzelt und arbeitet interdisziplinär mit Forscher:innen der angrenzenden Gebiete wie Medizin, Jura und den Gesellschaftswissenschaften zusammen.

CISPA verpflichtet sich zu den höchsten internationalen, akademischen Standards und bietet ein Forschungsumfeld von Weltrang, das einer großen Auswahl an Forscher:innen umfangreiche Ressourcen zur Verfügung stellt und eine attraktive Destination für die weltweit besten Talente und Forscher:innen darstellt. Darüber hinaus fördert das CISPA in besonderem Maße auch die grundständige und postgraduale Bildung der Cybersicherheitsstudierenden und hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, eine Kaderschmiede für die nächste Generation an Cybersicherheitsexpert:innen und wissenschaftlichen Führungskräften in diesem Bereich bereitzustellen.

CISPA ist in Saarbrücken situiert und somit in direkter Nachbarschaft zu Frankreich und Luxemburg – für das Zentrum eine ideale Lage für grenzüberschreitende und lokale Kollaborationen mit anderen Forschungsinstituten.

CISPA ist angetreten mit einer Mission: die digitalisierte Welt der Zukunft durch innovative Spitzenforschung von Grund auf zu denken und sicherer zu machen.

1

Wir behandeln die drängenden, großen Herausforderungen der Forschung in den Bereichen Cybersicherheit und Datenschutz, mit denen die Gesellschaft im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung konfrontiert wird, umfassend und ganzheitlich.

2

Wir übernehmen eine herausragende, internationale Position in den Forschungsbereichen Cybersicherheit und Datenschutz, sowohl in der modernsten Grundlagen- als auch der anwendungsorientierten Forschung.

3

Wir verpflichten uns zu den höchsten internationalen, akademischen Standards.

4

Wir bieten ein Forschungsumfeld von Weltrang, das zahlreichen Forscher:innen umfangreiche Ressourcen bietet und ein attraktives Ziel für die weltweit besten Talente und Wissenschaftler:innen darstellt.

5

Wir streben danach, eine Kaderschmiede für die nächste Generation wissenschaftlicher Führungskräfte und Innovatoren in Cybersicherheit und Datenschutz zu werden.

6

Wir erzielen durch den Technologietransfer, die Unterstützung von Start-ups und den gesellschaftlichen Diskurs beträchtlichen Einfluss auf die allgemeine Öffentlichkeit.

LEITUNG

Professor Michael Backes ist Gründungsdirektor des CISPA Helmholtz-Zentrums für Informationssicherheit. Er ist auch der Vorsitzende und Sprecher der CISPA-Geschäftsleitung.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Michael Backes
Scientific Director

Bernd Therre ist Administrativer Geschäftsführer des CISPA. Zuvor arbeitete er in verschiedenen Industriepositionen und war unter anderem Administrativer Leiter der Industriekultur Saar GmbH (IKS) und im Verwaltungsrat der "Stiftung Saarländischer Kulturbesitz".

Dipl.-Kfm. Bernd Therre
Administrative Manager

 



VERKNÜPFTE THEMEN

KEY FACTS

Das CISPA Helmholtz-Zentrum für Informationssicherheit wandelt sich allein durch das Wachstum ständig. Hier präsentieren wir immer wieder neue und auch wechselnde Zahlen und Fakten rund um das Zentrum. 

31

Jahre sind die Mitarbeiter:innen im Schnitt

31

Nationalitäten arbeiten am Zentrum

29,35 %

ist der Anteil an Frauen im CISPA

50

Hiwis forschen hier

2019

wurde das CISPA vollwertiges Mitglied in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

AWARDS

CISPA-Wissenschaftler:innen haben zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Preise und Auszeichnungen erhalten. Unter den bedeutendsten sind sechs ERC-Grants, insbesondere der ERC Synergy Grant ImPact im Jahr 2013, der erstmalig an Informatiker vergeben wurde.

Meilensteine

Oct 2011 - CISPA gegründet

Das Center for IT-Security, Privacy and Accountability (Kurzform: CISPA) wurde im Oktober 2011 als ein nationales BMBF-gefördertes Kompetenzzentrum für IT-Sicherheit und Datenschutz an der Universität des Saarlandes gegründet. 

Jan 2014 - Erc Synergy Grant

CISPA-Faculty haben den ERC Synergy Grant erhalten – den bedeutendsten Forschungspreis Europas, der erstmalig an Informatiker verliehen wurde .

Oct 2014 - Bachelor Cybersecurity

CISPA hat 2014 einen einzigartigen Bachelorstudiengang der Cybersicherheit an der Universität des Saarlandes ins Leben gerufen. 

Apr 2016 - Einweihung erstes CISPA-Gebäude

Das erste CISPA-Gebäude wird eröffnet.  Die Planung des zweiten Gebäudes ist in vollem Gange.

Nov 2016 - CISPA-Stanford Center

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Stanford Universität und CISPA ist besiegelt. Das Ziel: die Förderung des Austauschs und der Ausbildung herausragender Forscher:innen.

Dez 2017 - Helmholtz heißt CISPA willkommen

CISPA gibt seinen Beitritt zur Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft bekannt.

Sep 2018 - Gründung HMSP

CISPA und DZNE gründen das Helmholtz-Forschungszentrum für Medizinische Sicherheit und Datenschutz (HMSP).

Oct 2018 - Master Entrepreneurial Cybersecurity

An der Universität des Saarlandes startet ein neuer Master-Studiengang, in dem Studierende im Rahmen ihres Studiums ein Unternehmen gründen.

Jan 2019 - CISPA ist das 19. Helmholtz-Zentrum

CISPA wird Vollmitglied der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, der größten Forschungsgemeinschaft in Deutschland.

Mär 2019 - ZF AI & Cybersecurity Center

Der weltweit tätige Automobilzulieferer ZF kündigt die Zusammenarbeit mit CISPA im "ZF AI & Cybersecurity Center" an. 

Jan 2020 - Kooperation mit Loria in Frankreich

CISPA und LORIA eröffnen das neue "Deutsch-Französische Zentrum für Cybersicherheit".

LAGE

Wo ist Saarbrücken?

Saarbrücken, die Landeshauptstadt des Saarlandes, liegt im Südwesten Deutschlands, in unmittelbarer Nähe zur französischen Grenze, etwa auf halber Strecke zwischen der Stadt Luxemburg und Straßburg.

ANREISE MIT DEM FLUGZEUG

Der Flughafen Saarbrücken (SCN) ist durch tägliche Direktflüge mit zahlreichen europäischen Städten verbunden. Eine Taxifahrt vom Flughafen zur Universität des Saarlandes dauert etwa 20 Minuten (etwa 25 Euro Taxizentrale +49 681 33033 oder +49 681 55000). Alternativ bringt Sie ein öffentlicher Bus (R10) in 45 Minuten (2,60 Euro) vom Flughafen (Bushaltestelle "Saarbrücken Flughafen”) zur Universität des Saarlandes. Der Bus fährt wochentags zwischen 5:00 und 20:45 etwa zwei Mal pro Stunde.

Genauere Informationen finden Sie im Fahrplan der R10 : http://www.saarfahrplan.de

Der Flughafen Frankfurt (FRA), zweitgrößter Knotenpunkt Europas, liegt für Reisende der meisten Start-/Zielorte in angenehmer Lage. Die Autofahrt nach Saarbrücken dauert 1,5 Stunden, die Zugfahrt 2 bis 2,5 Stunden. Für die Zugfahrt vom Frankfurter Flughafen nach Saarbrücken finden Sie weitere Informationen weiter unten im Abschnitt “Ihre Anreise mit dem Zug”. Auch die Flughäfen in Paris oder Luxemburg sind weitere angenehme Optionen, die per Zug oder Bus mit Saarbrücken verbunden sind. 

ANREISE MIT DEM ZUG

Der Hauptbahnhof Saarbrücken ist gut angebunden an andere deutsche Städte. Sie können mit den Buslinien 111, 112 und 124 zur Universität des Saarlandes fahren. Eine Busfahrt vom Hauptbahnhof Saarbrücken zur Universität des Saarlandes dauert zwischen 15 und 25 Minuten (2,60 Euro). Wenn Sie an der Haltestelle “Stuhlsatzenhaus” aussteigen, befinden Sie sich direkt vorm CISPA-Gebäude.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.saarfahrplan.de

ANREISE MIT DEM PKW

GPS-Koordinaten des Universitätscampus:  N 49.259386  E 7.051715

CISPA befindet sich am Osteingang der Universität (“Universität Ost”). Sie können Ihr Fahrzeug bequem auf dem Parkplatz vor unserem Institut oder im Parkhaus “Universität Ost” parken, das nur ein paar Hundert Meter entfernt ist.

ADRESSEN

Placeholder

CISPA – Hauptgebäude

Stuhlsatzenhaus 5
66123 Saarbrücken, Germany

 +49 681 302 71900  +49 681 302 71942
Placeholder

Enovos-Gebäude (temporär)

Am Halberg 3
66121 Saarbrücken, Germany

 +49 681 302 71900  +49 681 302 71942
Placeholder

St. Ingbert (temporär)

Kaiserstraße 170-174
66383 St. Ingbert, Germany

 +49 681 302 71900  +49 681 302 71942