Send email Copy Email Address

research at cispa

Cybersecurity is a young and fast-evolving area. As a Helmholtz Center for Information Security, we are dedicated to cutting-edge foundational research combined with innovative application-oriented research in the areas of cybersecurity and privacy.

OUR RESEARCH AREAS

We are committed to the highest international academic standards and offer a world-class research environment that grants extensive resources to a wide range of researchers and that constitutes an attractive destination for the best talents and scientists from all countries. Currently, our research is centered around five research areas.

WHAT OUR FACULTY SAY

We are trying to determine ways to ascertain that current and future systems are secure. To achieve this, we develop analysis frameworks, methodologies, and tools. These enable us to identify attacks and propose more secure solutions.

Prof. Dr. Cas Cremers
Faculty

My group researches novel classes of vulnerabilities in Web applications and builds tools to detect and mitigate them. In addition, we investigate how to best notify affected sites about the vulnerabilities we found. This way, our insights do not only serve us, but can help administrators close their security holes, impacting the overall security of the Web.

Dr. Ben Stock
Faculty

Mobile devices can pose severe privacy threats but at the same time offer with their particular setting great opportunities to create more secure systems that put the users back into control over their data. In our research, we take this opportunity and improve mobile system security from hardware primitives to middleware design to the user's central role in the data protection.

Dr. Sven Bugiel
Faculty

Our research explores the boundaries of what is possible in secure computation: What are the strongest possible security guarantees and strongest functionality we can achieve under the weakest possible assumptions?

Dr. Nico Döttling
Faculty

I see Cyber-Physical Systems as the new frontier of cybersecurity: my goal is to understand threats & defenses based on interactions between physical and digital systems, and to translate cybersecurity principles to engineered systems.

Dr. Nils Ole Tippenhauer
Faculty

Security research in today’s interconnected world has so many different challenges. I am particularly excited about making complex security and privacy mechanisms more human-friendly.

Dr. Katharina Krombholz
Faculty

Our society regularly faces devastating and largely anonymous cyber attacks. We explore automated, reliable, and accurate methods to identify the origin of cyber attacks -- an important step to hold anonymous attackers responsible for their action.

Prof. Dr. Christian Rossow
Faculty

Recent advances in Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning offer great benefits to industry and society in general. While we are advancing the state of the art of future intelligent systems, we equally seek compliance with our expectations on security, privacy and safety.

Prof. Dr. Mario Fritz
Faculty

OUR LATEST PUBLICATIONS

Year 2020

Conference / Medium

CCS
ACM SIGSAC Conference on Computer and Communications Security

Conference / Medium

CCS
ACM SIGSAC Conference on Computer and Communications Security

Conference / Medium

ESEC/FSE
ACM Joint European Software Engineering Conference and Symposium on the Foundations of Software Engineering (ESEC/FSE)

OUR FUNDED PROJECTS & COLLABORATIONS

The relevance of CISPA's research activities is reflected in a large number of externally funded projects in which our scientists explore specific questions of information security. CISPA operates in a network of excellent national and international partners, which forms the basis for interdisciplinary innovation projects. Our global cooperations also focus on the mobility of researchers of all career levels. The researchers are actively and directly involved in current projects during their guest stays.

 

 

Latest and selected Funded Projects & Collaborations

AWARDS

CISPA researchers have received numerous scientific awards and honors. Among the most prominent ones are four ERC Grants, especially the ERC Synergy Grant ImPact in 2013. Our researchers were the first computer scientists to ever receive this award.

E-mail senden E-Mail Adresse kopieren

Forschung   AM HELMHOLTZ- ZENTRUM

Cybersicherheit ist ein junges und dynamisches Gebiet. Als Helmholtz-Zentrum für Informationssicherheit, widmet sich CISPA hochmoderner Grundlagenforschung in Kombination mit innovativer anwendungsorientierter Forschung in den Bereichen Cybersicherheit und Privacy. 

UNSERE FORSCHUNGSGEBIETE

Wir haben uns zu den höchsten internationalen, akademischen Standards verpflichtet und bieten ein Forschungsumfeld von Weltrang, das einer großen Auswahl an Forschern umfangreiche Ressourcen zur Verfügung stellt und eine attraktive Destination für die weltweit besten Talente und Forscher darstellt. Aktuell konzentriert sich unsere Forschung auf fünf Forschungsgebiete.

DAS SAGEN UNSERE FACULTY

Wir versuchen herauszufinden, wie wir sicher sein können, dass die gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Systeme sicher sind. Um dies zu erreichen, entwickeln wir Analysen, Methoden und Werkzeuge. Diese ermöglichen es uns, Angriffe zu entdecken und sicherere Lösungen vorzuschlagen.

Prof. Dr. Cas Cremers
Faculty

Meine Gruppe erforscht neue Arten von Schwachstellen in Webanwendungen und baut Werkzeuge, um sie zu erkennen und abzuschwächen. Darüber hinaus untersuchen wir, wie betroffene Websites am besten über die von uns gefundenen Schwachstellen informiert werden können. Auf diese Weise helfen wir nicht nur uns, sondern auch Administrator:innen, Sicherheitslücken zu schließen, was sich auf die allgemeine Sicherheit des Web auswirkt.

Dr. Ben Stock
Faculty

Mobile Geräte können die Privatsphäre ernsthaft gefährden, bieten aber gleichzeitig große Möglichkeiten, sicherere Systeme zu schaffen, die den Benutzer:innen wieder die Kontrolle über ihre Daten geben. In unserer Forschung nutzen wir diese Gelegenheit und verbessern die Sicherheit mobiler Systeme von der Hardware über das Design von Middleware bis hin zur zentralen Rolle der Benutzer:innen beim Datenschutz.

Dr. Sven Bugiel
Faculty

Unsere Forschung erforscht die Grenzen dessen, was bei sicherer Berechnung möglich ist: Welches sind die stärksten Sicherheitsgarantien und die stärkste Funktionalität, die wir unter den schwächstmöglichen Annahmen erreichen können?

Dr. Nico Döttling
Faculty

Ich sehe die Cyberphysikalischen Systeme als die neue Grenze der Cybersicherheit: Mein Ziel ist es, Bedrohungen und Abwehrmechanismen zu verstehen, die auf der Interaktion zwischen physischen und digitalen Systemen basieren, und die Prinzipien der Cybersicherheit auf technische Systeme zu übertragen.

Dr. Nils Ole Tippenhauer
Faculty

Die Sicherheitsforschung in unserer aktuellen, vernetzten Welt birgt so viele verschiedene Herausforderungen. Besonders spannend finde ich, komplexe Sicherheits- und Privacy-Mechanismen nutzerfreundlicher zu machen.

Dr. Katharina Krombholz
Faculty

Unsere Gesellschaft sieht sich oft verheerenden und größtenteils anonymen Cyberangriffen ausgesetzt. Wir erforschen automatisierte, zuverlässige und korrekte Methoden zur Identifizierung der Ursache von Cyberangriffen -- ein wichtiger Schritt, um anonyme Angreifer:innen für ihr Handeln zur Verantwortung zu ziehen.

Prof. Dr. Christian Rossow
Faculty

Die aktuellen Fortschritte in Künstlicher Intelligenz und Maschinellem Lernen bieten allgemein Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft große Vorteile. Wir arbeiten am Stand der Forschung künftiger intelligenter Systeme und versuchen gleichzeitig unsere Arbeit mit unseren Erwartungen an Sicherheit und Privacy in Einklang zu bringen.

Prof. Dr. Mario Fritz
Faculty

UNSERE NEUESTEN VERÖFFENTLICHUNGEN

Jahr 2020

Konferenz / Medium

CCS
ACM SIGSAC Conference on Computer and Communications Security

Konferenz / Medium

CCS
ACM SIGSAC Conference on Computer and Communications Security

Konferenz / Medium

ESEC/FSE
ACM Joint European Software Engineering Conference and Symposium on the Foundations of Software Engineering (ESEC/FSE)

UNSERE DRITTMITTELPROJEKTE & KOLLABORATIONEN

Die Aktualität der Forschungsaktivitäten des CISPA zeigt sich auch an einer Vielzahl an extern geförderten Projekten, in denen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler spezifische Fragen der Informationssicherheit beleuchten. Dabei agiert CISPA in einem Netzwerk aus exzellenten nationalen und internationalen Partnern, die Grundlage für interdisziplinäre Innovationsvorhaben. Im Fokus steht bei der globalen Zusammenarbeit auch die Mobilität der Forschenden aller Karrierestufen, die sich während eines Gastaufenthalts aktiv und direkt in laufende Arbeiten einbringen.

 

 

Neue und ausgewählte Drittmittelprojekte und Kollaborationen

AUSZEICHNUNGEN

CISPA-Wissenschaftler:innen haben zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Preise und Auszeichnungen erhalten. Unter den bedeutendsten sind vier ERC-Grants, insbesondere der ERC Synergy Grant ImPact im Jahr 2013, der erstmalig an Informatiker vergeben wurde. Im folgenden Abschnitt führen wir eine Auswahl der wichtigsten Preise auf, die Forscher:innen des Kern-CISPA bis heute erhalten haben.